North Carolina Age of Majority Law

Minors – Age of Majority – North Carolina

A minor is any person who has not reached the age of 18 years.(1971, c. 585, s. 1.)

Chap. 48-A, § 48A-2.

Age of Majority
18 (48A-2)

Upon marriage or becoming 18; may petition court if 16 or over (§7B-3500 et seq.)

Voidable subject to making restitution at common law; if 17 or over, may enter into contract to finance higher education; may be ratified by silence after 3 years subsequent to age of majority

Ability to Sue
By guardian, testamentary guardian, guardian ad litem (1A-1, R. 17(b

Consent to Medical Treatment
VD, pregnancy, drug abuse, or emotional disturbance; any emancipated minor may consent to medical, dental, or health treatment for himself or child (§90-21.5)

Inside North Carolina Age of Majority Law